Budget Direct Reviews

Home Insurance
Claims Reviews

These reviews have been provided by customers who’ve made a claim on a Home and/or Contents insurance policy from Budget Direct.

Overall Rating

Authentic reviews powered by
Authentic Reviews Powered By Bazaarvoice
These Budget Direct Insurance reviews are collected, moderated and managed by Bazaarvoice, a leading independent ratings and reviews provider. Reviews completed since February 10th, 2015.
Home Insurance Claim Complete is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 2962.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Followed up on all issues and acted professionally From start to finish, the job was carried out in a tradesman manner. All trades were polite and easy to communicate with. All works completed and I the customer am happy.
Date published: 2020-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great easy claims process I made a contents claim for a tv I accidentally broke. The whole process from the beginning to the end was super easy and smooth. Everyone I dealt with was super friendly and I really appreciated the follow up calls to check everything was going well. Really happy with Budget Direct customer service.
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from follow up and keep the customer updated on time I understand that the repair job may take much longer than usual as there were lot of claims after the damages caused by the hail storm in Canberra. however, sometime, I had not received any update of when the repair job can be getting done until I following up... it's better to communicate with the customer on time, if could not finish the job on time.
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Claim Response Excellent We had 2 properties damaged in a severe hail storm in November 2019. The repairs were done promptly and the tradies did an excellent job with the roof repairs and also kept the jobsite clean and tidy at all times. We had very regular phone calls from Budget checking on the progress ensuring everything was running to our satisfaction. Overall we were very pleased with the response from Budget. Thank You Budget!
Date published: 2020-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Above and Beyond service From day 1 I cannot fault the care, attention to detail and friendly service received by the Budget Direct claims team! They made a stressful situation manageable! Calm, friendly, expert service. Thank you.
Date published: 2020-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Budget bombs out! Long term customers not supported by insurer-information withheld! (That is that we could have been paid out rather than go through the farce of the disappearing subcontractors).
Date published: 2020-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A smooth claims process When all substantiated required paper work and details were provided the claim was promptly processed.
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Straight forward procedure They tried their best to satisfy my claim, reviewed my case & get back to me as promised. I’m happy with the result . They are honest enough to reduce my premium.
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from application was smooth process during the process, we found that Budget direct, helped us through the claim
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No cover When you put in a claim that you would expect to be covered it’s not a waste of a premium
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent and stress free claims process! Our home was flooded with raw sewage, from the initial phone call to lodge a claim until the day we moved back home we felt supported, regular contact with the allocated Case Manager Bianca reassured us that things were happening behind the scenes and sometimes just to check how we were going. The removal company did an excellent job with no breakages when our belongings were returned to us. Super impressed with the service and professionalism especially during these difficult times. Thank you.
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prompt and Professional I received a call back from Budget immediately after claiming online. Within 5 minutes of hanging up with Budget I received a call from the restoration company and building company. They were both out the next day to assess and clean. A week from my claim everything has been finalised and fixed, I cannot fault Budget.
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Insurance Company The whole claims process was very easy & stress free. Budget Direct called us regularly to see how our home repairs were going & couldn't be more helpful. Excellent service 10 out of 10
Date published: 2020-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to deal with From the the first call to the end we were kept up to date and the repairs were completed quickly and to a high standard
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy The staff were so friendly and helpful. From the beginning to the end, all run smoothly, no problems at all. Will definitely be staying a customer.
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to deal with Overall good service Kristy was very good and helpful
Date published: 2020-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Budget direct were brilliant through the process! High quality service, I don't say these things lightly at all and is very rare that I would praise or even comment a company in this manner or to this calibre. My deepest appreciation to everyone that helped me with my claim, and acted so quickly. From beginning to end was smooth. Thanks budget direct!
Date published: 2020-09-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Claim for elderly couple refused due to "old roof" I just had a claim knocked back. I've never claimed before. I accept the decision (begrudgingly). A simple leak in the roof caused ceiling damage in a 70 year old house. "Roof condition" was blamed. Why does Budget Direct insure 70-year-old houses when a leaky roof, an ageing gutter (that may cause a blockage), or old wiring may cause the damage in the event of extreme rainfall?. Maybe I am just naive. These are all factors that aren't covered. It was NOT the way it is advertised in the ads where people accidentally knock a glass of wine over and have the carpet replaced. Far from it. In fact, they made me feel like it's not worth insuring with them if the house is old. Finally, they provided no assistance to help find or atleast recommend a reputable tradie for me to arrange the repair myself. They said no and walked away)!!!
Date published: 2020-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great service Great customer service, really helpful and gave great insight into all my options while i was making a claim
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful and prompt settlement of our claim. Burst pipe claim. All contact staff were helpful and efficient. Prompt assessment of claim and builders report of damage. Left me suitably impressed.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Communication is key. I was very pleased with the whole claims process with Budget Direct. I have never made a home insurance claim before so had low expectations based on stories I had heard. They communicated regularly, the building company who carried out the work were very professional, also communicated regularly and were very reassuring. I am glad we have got through this and more than anything, so happy that we had a great experience.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great claims process and repair workmanship. I had my house damaged by very heavy rain storm with gale force winds. Anyhow, I lodged my claim, it took several months in total (>5 months, because of backlog of cases, contractors, but I also admit my delays due to COVID concerns). However in the end, I am very happy with the repair quality and also the claims case manager. I was worried about the Budget Direct claims process as I've been with other name insurers in the past, but I don't have any worries now.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent personalised service. From beginning to end the Claims staff at Budget created a feeling of reassurance with personal touch. Communication was also excellent and efficient, as were the repairs.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good service and very good outcome. I submitted my claim and got a phonecall within a day. This was good but I got no information for another couple of days so I made another phonecall to find out where it was up to. I was then informed that I needed more information provided to them. This was forwarded and again a few days later I made another phonecall where I was required to send even more information. A couple of days later I rang again and got a positive response stating the claim had been approved and what would happen now. True to the advice, the end was positive however I felt I was doing all the work and I had to find out what was required. I feel there could have been better communication between Budget and me.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service We only were with budget direct for 6 months when we had a leak in our kitchen ..was worried as only new customer but we couldnt complain 1 bit ..everything was done as quickly as possible and the all the staff were very friendly and efficient .. ours ended up being a very large claim also but we were treated like we had been with them for 20 years. 5 star service all the way .Thank you.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 stars great service and easy claim process. Would highly recommend Budget Direct.
Date published: 2020-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prompt claim settlement Budget direct promptly registered my claim, liaised with repairers, obtained reports and settled the claim promptly. Their staff was courteous.
Date published: 2020-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Claim went very smoothly From the first phone call yo lodge the claim the Claim Manager made the process so easy. We were made to feel very safe. The process was completed to our satisfaction.
Date published: 2020-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor claims experience Not professional builder assessor and technicians. Very poor onsite management and internal communications. Only the IDR team is doing the job.
Date published: 2020-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Considerate and professional This was my first insurance claim in over 50 years. I was worried about complexities, bureaucracy etc but your staff and procedures made it easy
Date published: 2020-08-24
  • y_2020, m_9, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_2962
  • loc_en_AU, sid_homeclaimcomplete, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_auto-general
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 66.44ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT